Information on Launching a Translation Website
Thread poster: Mahdi Ghazanfar

Mahdi Ghazanfar
Local time: 15:49
English to Farsi (Persian)
+ ...
Jul 5, 2009

Dear colleagues,

I want to start my own business on translation. After some years of translating as a freelancer I think I should launch my own career. for this reason I want to launch a website and start my business.
It would be very kind of you to give me your invaluable comments and mention you useful links.

Thank you in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Sarah Wood  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:19
French to English
Go for it! Jul 6, 2009

Hello Mahdi,

I'm surprised you haven't had any replies yet!

I recently decided to set up a website too. I wanted it to act as a sort of online business card - that can be regularly and quickly updated!

I used an online web hosting company to purchase my domain name and host my site. Once I'd written my site (with the help of the book "Creating Web Sites") I uploaded the files and hey presto - online! It was so easy I wish I'd done it years ago! Because my site is 'homemade' it is quite simple. Perhaps in the future I will pay a professional to create a really smart site - but I have plenty of work already so I'm quite happy in the meantime.

My advice would be to do some research, decide on the purpose of your site, decide on your budget, and then go for it!

Good luck!

Sarah

Mahdi Ghazanfar
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Sarah Jul 6, 2009

thank you for you kind reply and also encouragement. this is really part of my business plan. I have conducted a research to know the ABCs. I am surprised too why no one has helped me yet!
many thanks for your kind attention again.

chica nueva
Local time: 23:19
Chinese to English
There is some information on the site ... Jul 8, 2009

Hello Mahdi.

1 Here is an old discussion thread. You might find more information by using 'Forum Search' (at left):