Pricing a text book translation
Thread poster: Daniel Weston

Daniel Weston  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:12
French to English
+ ...
Aug 28, 2009

I have been asked to quote on translating a small college mathematics textbook by the publisher. I am very familiar with the subject matter since I have a math degree and I've taken courses in this particular subject. The copy is in PDF format. I have never translated a book before, but the job is something that I would like to move forward with because I have a thorough understanding of the topic and it is interesting to me. The formulae contain many special math characters but I am able to reproduce them in Word. Does it make more sense to quote a job like this by the page or by the character? Or is it better to quote by the hour? Where can I find information regarding pricing a project like this? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

KSL Berlin  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 22:12
Member (2003)
German to English
+ ...
Tricky Aug 28, 2009

In general, I don't think the rates for textbook translation are great (though perhaps not as miserable as for literature), but keep in mind that the equation editor in Word is very quirky, and getting the formulae right can take a long time in some cases. You might figure out how long it takes you on average to reproduce an equation and add a surcharge for each one in the text. Also, since the source is PDF this involves additional effort on your part, which should be charged appropriately.

You might think about something like a source line rate (character-based) with an equation surcharge. Quoting pages is pointless, as these don't reflect the amount of text or other work involved, unless you use "standard pages" of a defined character count.

cilantro  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 00:12
Italian to English
+ ...
forfait Aug 29, 2009