Thread poster: RUTH ELIZABETH BARTLETT
RUTH ELIZABETH BARTLETT
RUTH ELIZABETH BARTLETT
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:14
French to English
Sep 18, 2009

Good morning,
I am a freelance translator based in France and have recently been offered quite a few jobs in different language pairs. I would like to outsource these to other translators and take a small commission. Does anyone have any advice on this? In particular i would like to know if there is a particular kind of agreement they should be signing? Can i ask them to sign something similar to the one that agencies have me sign? Are there any legal requirements?
Any thoughts a
... See more
Good morning,
I am a freelance translator based in France and have recently been offered quite a few jobs in different language pairs. I would like to outsource these to other translators and take a small commission. Does anyone have any advice on this? In particular i would like to know if there is a particular kind of agreement they should be signing? Can i ask them to sign something similar to the one that agencies have me sign? Are there any legal requirements?
Any thoughts are very welcome.
Ruth
Collapse

Paulo Eduardo -  Pro Knowledge
Paulo Eduardo - Pro Knowledge  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 23:14
Member (2008)
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Non-Disclosure Agrrement. Sep 18, 2009

I would start by a non-disclosure agreement and further the terms of contracts/agreements you sign with employers.

Stanislaw Czech, MCIL CL
Stanislaw Czech, MCIL CL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
You may have a separate contract for subcontractors Sep 18, 2009

or simply add some terms to the PO you send to them and ask them to sign it and send it back to you.

Best Regards

PS: When it comes to employees/employers - if I were you I would stress in terms that they are are not your employees.

RUTH ELIZABETH BARTLETT
RUTH ELIZABETH BARTLETT
United Kingdom
French to English