Quality complaints
Thread poster: Lucia Cantella

Lucia Cantella  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:55
English to French
+ ...
Oct 6, 2009

Hi,

I recently did a translation of +- 24000 words for a direct customer with a leadtime of 12 days (for translating and proofreading) which is quite reasonable.
I delivered translation on 28th September, and since than i haven't heard anything from customer since then. Yesterday evening I sent them the invoice, and miracle, today I get a phone call from customer saying that apparently there were some complaints from their proofreaders and that my translation (it was cooking recipes) looked as if it had been translated by a computer software.

Now I am a professional translator, and I did translate all those recipes myself using Trados.
This is the first time I'm facing this kind of issue, but what should a recipe sound like?
I mean a recipe is always a recipe, words used are always coming back...

What bothers me is that they didn't say anything for 1 week and now that they have received the invoice they are complaining about the work.

What should I tell them? How can I defend myself? How should I react? This is the first time I'm working for them...

Thanks in advance for your help,
Lucia

Direct link Reply with quote

Volodymyr Kukharenko
Ukraine
Local time: 08:55
Member (2009)
English to Ukrainian
+ ...
Ask for the reasonable analysis and the list of mistakes Oct 6, 2009

Without providing the list of needed reasonable corrections their statement is just empty words or someone's personal point of view.

So ask them to give the examples of translation which is claimed to be MT and their version of "human" translation. That would at least give you the idea what they mean.

[Edited at 2009-10-06 09:25 GMT]

Maria Tsang  Identity Verified
German to French
+ ...
verify Oct 6, 2009

Let them send you the reviewed text so you can verify if any of the changes are justified.

Daniel Meier  Identity Verified
English to German
+ ...