Thread poster: Montse Ballesteros

Montse Ballesteros  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 07:08
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 9, 2009

Hi!

I have recently applied for a job offer, and the translation agency (based in UK) has sent me a contract I should sign before starting working for them. I have never worked for a translation agency before, and I wonder whether this clause regarding copyrights is normal.

"The Translator accepts that the author of the original text shall be the exclusive owner of the translated work and that the text and other documents shall not be used in any circumstances other than those previously agreed without specific authorisation."

Many thanks in advance!

Montse

Direct link Reply with quote

John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 01:08
Member (2008)
French to English
Normal clause, I believe Oct 9, 2009

I think its quite normal. The translator is performing a service, not originating the work.

[Edited at 2009-10-09 19:47 GMT]

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
This is not a copyright clause Oct 9, 2009

Montse Ballesteros wrote:
"The Translator accepts that the author of the original text shall be the exclusive owner of the translated work and that the text and other documents shall not be used in any circumstances other than those previously agreed without specific authorisation."

Even without this clause in a contract I always assume that this is what I grant the client anyway, unless it is a literary text. What the client wants is an unrestricted unlimited license to use your translation without paying any further royalties, and he doesn't want you to make use of the translation without his consent. This is normal.