Potential long-term project and something prescheduled--What to tell the PM?
Thread poster: Sara Senft

Sara Senft  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:07
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 13, 2009

I am talking with one of my good customers about a potential long-term project. It would be over the next 18 or so months, but in certain intervals. (That's as I understand it...I'm still waiting to hear more about the project.

There is a potential conflict if I do take on part of this project. In early November, I am taking the next round of court interpreting tests for my state.

Should I be honest and up-front with the PM? I am leaning towards that, but I am also considering a different approach.

(This is my first time with even a potential long-term project!)

Direct link Reply with quote

FarkasAndras
Local time: 16:07
English to Hungarian
+ ...
just tell them Oct 13, 2009

That's what I did in a similar situation (in fact, I took about a third of the time off during a 4-month project). I just told them I have other jobs scheduled already and I'm only interested in participating in their project if this sort of on and off schedule is acceptable. We agreed on how much time I would devote to their project and that was that.

Your situation is much simpler: I'm guessing you'll only take a couple of days off, maybe a week or two. Any sane project manager expects that from a freelancer. You may just say you can't show up for/take on work on these days without giving a reason or just saying something hazy about professional obligations, or you may go ahead and tell them what you'll be up to. I'd expect them to wish you luck and note down your schedule without any further comment.

Of course, it may be different if you need to take several weeks off or the exams are at a bad time (end of a project period).

United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
That's what I figured Oct 13, 2009