When an agency asks for personal information (bank, etc)
Thread poster: María Teresa Taylor Oliver
María Teresa Taylor Oliver
María Teresa Taylor Oliver  Identity Verified
Panama
Local time: 17:17
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 20, 2003

Hello. I've recently been contacted by an agency, through my Proz profile, and this agency seems to be in good standing (it's listed on the Blue Board and all). However, since I'm fairly new to this, I would like to know your opinion on this particular matter:

When an agency asks for your bank information, such as bank name, branch code, SWIFT codes, etc., is this correct? Bear in mind that they're also asking about my rates, my personal info, samples, and verifying my data as it
... See more
Hello. I've recently been contacted by an agency, through my Proz profile, and this agency seems to be in good standing (it's listed on the Blue Board and all). However, since I'm fairly new to this, I would like to know your opinion on this particular matter:

When an agency asks for your bank information, such as bank name, branch code, SWIFT codes, etc., is this correct? Bear in mind that they're also asking about my rates, my personal info, samples, and verifying my data as it appears on my profile, and also, the message they sent me seems very professional in nature, with a proper signature and everything.

What's the best way to handle this? I'm wary about giving out any kind of information to anyone unless I'm sure it's the right thing to do.

Thanks!!
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 00:17
English to German
+ ...
This is part of your professional profile Oct 20, 2003

Hi Maria Teresa,
I cannot see anything improper here - after all, your bank details are part of your professional profile. For example, my company's bank details are stated on the company stationery. Details such as branch number/address, SWIFT BIC etc. are required for international payments.