Beware of the so-called global translation companies!
Thread poster: Mats Wiman
Mats Wiman
Mats Wiman  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 00:52
Member (2000)
German to Swedish
+ ...
In memoriam
Oct 24, 2003

Tough stuff!

During my 7 years of work as a professional translator I have more a and more come to single out one type of customer for which I will not work:

THE MULTINATIONAL TRANSLATION AGENCY.

Reason: Most, but not all, are arrogant exploiters which make translation a tedious slavery.

Their appoach is characterized by:

”We are big and beautiful and we call the shots here.”
”You are to do what you’re told or else�
... See more
Tough stuff!

During my 7 years of work as a professional translator I have more a and more come to single out one type of customer for which I will not work:

Reason: Most, but not all, are arrogant exploiters which make translation a tedious slavery.

”You are to do what you’re told or else….”

They put one-sided contracts before you to sign, containing ridiculous clauses stating all you should do including threats to pay nothing if…. or even bestowing themselves the right to extort damage money from you if…whereas they themselves have to do very little as part of the contract.

It’s also natural to them to start negotiating AFTER you’ve made your offer, almost almays with the argument the ”more is to come if you do well….” (something the will repeat to the next ’victim’). Very often nothing much will materialise.