Non-resident operating as a UK sole trader
Thread poster: Judith McLean

Judith McLean  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:29
Italian to English
+ ...
Jan 5, 2010

I am a translator currently living and working in Italy with Italian residency for tax purposes but a British citizen. I am thinking of changing the way I work as I have been working on short term contracts here in Italy, but I'd like to change this and operate as a sole trader in the UK while living most of the year in Italy. Does anyone have experience with this? Is it possible for a non-resident to operate as a sole trader in the UK, and what are the implications for taxes in Italy?
Thanks

David Wright  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 00:29
German to English
+ ...
Can't really see the point Jan 5, 2010

As far as I know, a sole trader does not register and simply trades. If you were claiming to be a sole trader in the UK, as far as I can see the only way that this manifests itself is if you pay tax in the UK. However, if you spend most of the year in Italy, you are not liable for UK tax. I don't know if you can voluntarily pay tax in the UK, but even if you did, you would still, I assume, be liable for tax in Italy. Any tax you paid in the UK would be taken into account in Italy (double taxation agreement), but you would still end up one way or another paying the full amount of tax you pay in Italy.

Judith McLean  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Italian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I don't want to avoid paying tax Jan 5, 2010

The reason for considering this option is because I don't know how long I'll be living in Italy and that I may have clients from the UK as well as Italy. If I stick with the system I know (i.e. the UK) it would be easier for me and I've heard of other people doing the same thing. You may be right of course that there is no point but I'd like to find out if other people have done it.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...