Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Agency´s request of TMs
Thread poster: Maria Teresa Velez
Maria Teresa Velez  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:59
English to Spanish
Jan 12, 2010

I had worked for an agency during 2 years in a very specialized topic of which I am an expert. This year I got a message telling me that "by mistake" they had given someone the job (whic is recurrent) this year, and they asked me to send them the most recent TM.
I was hired by them to translate and not for generating TMs.
Any feedback?

Direct link Reply with quote

Rifraf
Local time: 15:59
Win Align Jan 12, 2010

Your the owner of the TM. They can WinAlign the old translations and thus create a TM on their own. You are not required to make the TM available to them.

Cristiana Coblis  Identity Verified
Romania
Local time: 16:59
Member (2004)
English to Romanian
+ ...
I would not share it in this case Jan 12, 2010

In my opinion, since the agency is managing the project (long term, recurrent), the agency should maintain an updated TM of their own, it's part of the PM's job. Of course, since they chose to give the project to a new translator, they should be able to offer that translator all the resources necessary to do the job. They, the agency, not you
Managing and maintaining a TM is not a free service, you are entitled to compensation for such services, especially if the agency does not manage a TM for their client or they failed to do that in this case.

Marek Daroszewski (MrMarDar)  Identity Verified
English to Polish
+ ...
By mistake Jan 12, 2010

Dmitrie Highduke  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Member (2008)
English to Ukrainian
+ ...
Tell them Jan 12, 2010

Tell them that you have one TM for several projects (including their ones), so you just can't share all the projects.

Giovanni Guarnieri MITI, MIL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:59
Member (2004)
English to Italian
Tell them... Jan 12, 2010

that, unfortunately, you deleted the TM "by mistake"...

FarkasAndras