How can I secure my system?
Thread poster: Hellmut Kohlsdorf

Hellmut Kohlsdorf  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:21
German to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 25, 2010

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen

I have a customer from a country that is believed by some to pursue spying of industrial secrets. I am a technical translator and I do everything I can to ensure the confidentiality of the documents of my customers. As such I am a bit worried about installing a license of a product on my computer.
My questions:
Is there a way to ensure via tools or by setting up Windows 7 Ultimate in such a way that I can be sure not get a troyan or similar onto my computer or to prevent it from disclusing information outside.
I know that i.e. I could have a second harddisk or a second computer with only this tool, but that is expensive and troublesome. But having signed multiple confidentiality agreements I am very sensitive to this topic!

Best regards

Hellmut

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Store your client information seperately Jan 25, 2010

hellmut1956 wrote:
Is there a way to ensure via tools or by setting up Windows 7 Ultimate in such a way that I can be sure not get a troyan or similar onto my computer or to prevent it from disclusing information outside.

No.

I am a technical translator and I do everything I can to ensure the confidentiality of the documents of my customers. As such I am a bit worried about installing a license of a product on my computer.

The only way to ensure that no program on your computer can transmit data from your computer without your consent is to put your data in a separate location where no program can find it unless you specifically grant access to it.