Thread poster: Klemen Perko

Klemen Perko  Identity Verified
Luxembourg
Local time: 17:59
English to Slovenian
+ ...
May 14, 2010

Hi,

I was wondering whether any of you ever faced such an issue and how you handled it.

I was namely informed by an agency I have been working for a couple of years now (and have been generally happy working for them as I had the feeling that they really appreciated my input and have been paying me - what I believe to be - fair rates for the translations) that they have implemented a new tool which will enable them to join and build TM's by all translaters working on a certain client account in the same language combinations.

All fine so far, but they have later in the mail asked me to kindly send them the TM I have already built up so far so that they can update their respective TM in order to provide their client with as consistent translations as possible.

Now, I do feel very reluctant to do so and will most probably refuse, for many reasons, not least that I do feel that my TM is the fruit of my hard work and would hate to see that the agency would some months later have kindly thanked me for my services and hired a cheaper translator who would then reap the fruits of the said work.

Have you ever received such a request before? How did you deal with it? Any suggestions/opinions/experience shared shall be greatly appreciated!

Best,
K.

Terry Richards
France
French to English
+ ...
They can always align May 15, 2010

If you don't send it, they could recover it by aligning the source and translated documents so you are not really protecting anything by refusing to send it.

If they ask for it, I always provide the agency with my TM (or the uncleaned files, if they prefer) but only for the job I did for them (I re-clean the file into a brand-new TM and then export it in tmx format). I still have an "edge" in that I have TMs from multiple sources.