Thread poster: Paula Borges

Paula Borges  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 01:28
Member (2010)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 18, 2010

I'm just wondering if this is normal. This agency I've been working with for a few months now just started sending me texts with changes made by proofreaders and the following ratios:

0,1234567% error for this text
0,1345638% for this one

They ask me to comment and 'note' these 'mistakes' and 'errors', which they are mostly minor changes the proofreader made based on style and preferences. I think I've seen one 'error' that was actually a typo.

I have lots of work to do and simply do not have the time to comment and argue with proofreaders about their style and favorite words regarding small texts delivered months ago.

Is this common? How can I politely say that I simply don't have the time for this?

Also, they've asked me to send them texts with 'track changes'. That means, they want to know every single word I decide to change and every typo before spell-check. Why? Do you guys do that?

Thank you in advance for your insight.

[Edited at 2010-05-18 16:26 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxmediamatrix
Spanish to English
+ ...
Keeping other peoples' noses out of your business... May 18, 2010

If you don’t want the agency to see your own editing, you can copy-paste the entire translation into a new document just before sending it. That way there will nothing to show in ‘track changes’ – it will look as though you translated it perfectly in one fell swoop from start to finish.