Thread poster: Maria Antonini
Maria Antonini
Maria Antonini
United States
Local time: 14:02
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 28, 2010

Hello, colleagues. I would appreciate your responses regarding the legality / ethics of a spouse translating his/her spouse's legal documents or of a relative (close or distant) translating his/her relative's legal documents. Are there countries with specific legislation on this respect? Of particular interest to my inquiry is the USA. Thanks in advance. María Milagros

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:02
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
USA Jul 28, 2010

As far as the USA is concerned, I have no knowledge of any legislation at all concerning translation. It is a totally unregulated profession in the USA. Only interpreting is regulated for the purposes of certain agencies or institutions and then only in some areas or states. The only possible objection could come from the person or entity receiving the translation.

Some clients for legal purposes do require official certification, such as the one I have which is from the US Federal
... See more
As far as the USA is concerned, I have no knowledge of any legislation at all concerning translation. It is a totally unregulated profession in the USA. Only interpreting is regulated for the purposes of certain agencies or institutions and then only in some areas or states. The only possible objection could come from the person or entity receiving the translation.

Some clients for legal purposes do require official certification, such as the one I have which is from the US Federal Courts. Even though I am certified as an interpreter, the job description does include translation, and my services as a translator are much in demand because of said certification. It lends high credibility to my work, and it is an absolute requirement for many jobs.