Received job then lost it?
Thread poster: riceyboy

riceyboy
Local time: 08:42
Japanese to English
Aug 31, 2010

This is my first time posting in these forums. I think this website is amazing, and I'm glad to be a part of it. Here is the problem I faced this morning.

I am a JPN - ENG translator, and I responded to a job on this site yesterday. I did the sample translation, and sent in my rate. According to my e-mail this was about 13 hours ago. I received a response from the company 5 hours ago (8 hours later) stating:

"Congratulations! Your test translation satisfied our client’s requirements.

Enclosed please find the whole text of Book Review. Is your rate of US$0.10 per English word or per Japanese characters (no space)? We can only accept the target rate of a maximum US$0.10.

I will issue a PO to you immediately upon receipt of your confirmation.

My time is GMT+7, and my client keeps reminding me of the critical importance of meeting the deadline September 1, 2010@0100 GMT (i.e., 8 am in Beijing Time)."

I received this e-mail about 3 hours after it was sent out, responded accordingly, and started working on the project. An hour later, I receive an e-mail from the same person stating that the job has already been offered to someone else.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't see anywhere in my confirmation e-mail that this has been offered to multiple people and it is first come first serve. I get that he wanted to confirm the rate, and I realize the delay in my response may have been a little scary, but it was only because of our time difference. I responded to him at 7am New York time which is technically before business hours begin.

Anyway, I responded and he responded back explaining:

"I don’t know why you proceed with the translation without a PO. Always make sure to undertake a job with a PO at hand.

I must apologize to you for any trouble I may have caused you.