Thread poster: Jessie Nelson

Jessie Nelson  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:51
French to English
Sep 16, 2010

Hello to everyone,
I am working for an agency.
I have completed at least 20 projects for them without interpersonal problems, not easy when communicating only by e mail and phone.
I am an independent contractor working mainly in medical translation.
The subject matter is easy for me because I have a long nursing and insurance background.

Here is my dilemma.
I have had 2 recent instances in which I believe I was treated unfairly
One concerned a project manager who sent me 4 files to translate. One was out of my language combination so I quickly advised her so she could replace. The second I translated and was then told I should not have after it was sent to me. I was not paid for that file.
There were two remaining files. I thought I had better get clarification on these, and emailed for clarification. It was over the weekend.
While waiting for a response,I translated one file and was half way through the other when I tried phoning the agency but couldn't get through. I emailed again, and did get an assistant who emailed me I might have received the files by error. On Monday morning I received a brusque e mail from the project manager advising the second file was pulled since she had not received it.
I called and spoke to her supervisor who told me to send her the emails and QM would investigate.

The second incident occurred this week. I was working with a very nice young man, who had sent me several other files.
This was a large medical file, a hemicolectomy and thryroidectomy. While it is always possible to make an occassional error I am confident my actual translations are right on.