novel translator's rights
Thread poster: Daniel McDonald
Daniel McDonald
Daniel McDonald
Local time: 21:44
French to English
Oct 9, 2010

Hello All,
I'm a newbie to the translation world with a few months experience. I've been asked to translate a novel from french into english for eventual scriptwriting to produce a movie. The author has given verbal approval, as have the producer and financial teams.
I was hoping someone in here might know about what translator rights i might have. For example, should the book carry recognition of my translator services, do i have control over the text i produce, are there potential
... See more
Hello All,
I'm a newbie to the translation world with a few months experience. I've been asked to translate a novel from french into english for eventual scriptwriting to produce a movie. The author has given verbal approval, as have the producer and financial teams.
I was hoping someone in here might know about what translator rights i might have. For example, should the book carry recognition of my translator services, do i have control over the text i produce, are there potential royalties, etc...
Anybody? Any other key info i should know about, feel free to toss in, i'm all ears.
Thanks in advance,
dan

[Edited at 2010-10-09 17:23 GMT]
Collapse

Neil Coffey
Neil Coffey  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:44
French to English
+ ...
Negotiate these things Oct 9, 2010

bakiane wrote:

Hello All,
I was hoping someone in here might know about what translator rights i might have. For example, should the book carry recognition of my translator services, do i have control over the text i produce, are there potential royalties, etc...
Anybody? Any other key info i should know about, feel free to toss in, i'm all ears.
Thanks in advance,
dan

IMO, you should do the following:

- negotiate the issues you mention above
- get a *written* contract clearly stating the terms you've negotiated