Current standards for translation
Thread poster: Tobi H
Oct 12, 2010

Hi everybody,
I’m a German translation student and I'm currently doing an internship in a translation bureau in Berlin. Since I like to have something „bigger“ to write about in my internship report, I've asked to get such a task. Now, I have to gather information on standards and other certifications regarding quality assurance / quality management in the translation / localization process. Later then, I will have to present this information in an arranged and understandable way (so the company can decide better whether to get such a certification). I will also have the opportunity to write my bachelor thesis in the company if the topic should prove suitable.

Since I hardly found any current information (and I mean really current) on that topic, I’d like to know about your opinions and experience. I’d appreciate it if you could think about the following questions:

How important is it for clients to give work to a certificated translation bureau?
(And how important is it for them whether you have an official certification or whether you just say „Well, we follow the guidelines of the XY standard but we are not certified“?)

Are there any other standards than the EN 15038 and ISO 9000 standard that can be useful for a German translation bureau?

Is it, for instance, possible to officially get an American certification as a German company (the ASTM F2575 – 06 standard sounds interesting to me)?

Do you know any useful links or other sources about the topic?

These are the questions that are coming to my mind for now.
Thanks in advance!

PS: I hope that I posted this in the right forum.

Tobi H
TOPIC STARTER
ASTM standards Oct 15, 2010

I've recently read that ASTM standards are voluntary standards. I suppose this means that you can't / don't have to get certfied with these.

Simone Linke  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:57
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
just some ideas Oct 15, 2010