survey: role of client education and quality in your business
Thread poster: Julian Bisping

Julian Bisping
Local time: 18:18
English to German
Oct 16, 2010

Hi, everyone. I am a graduate student in translation at Kent State University and currently working on a research project on Translation Client-Vendor Interaction, which involves a survey I would invite you to take. It addresses issues related to client education and quality in translation. The survey will take some time (approximately 20 minutes), and some thought too, but it addresses crucial issues for freelance translators/project managers working in the industry today. So far, these topics have barely been touched by academia (or anyone else, for that matter), despite their importance.

Here's the link: http://www.surveygizmo.com/s3/381988/Translation-Client-Vendor-Interaction

Please spread the word!

Best,

Julian Bisping

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:18
English to German
+ ...
The survey doesn't work as is Oct 16, 2010

1.) We can only decide between PM and freelance translator. Sorry, a lot of translators run their own, registered businesses. Technically they are employees of their own business.

2.) The question: "Do you have a university degree?". Sorry, a lot of translators have more than one. However, we can only chose one, either "translation" or "other".

Which is why I can't complete your survey.

Julian Bisping
English to German
TOPIC STARTER
the survey works, here is how you do it Oct 16, 2010

Thank you for your input, you can still complete the survey by doing the following:

For the question "Who are you?" pick freelance translator even if you have a registered business and are "technically" an employee. The emphasis is on self-employed translator, if you will, as opposed to project manager or in-house translator who does not handle client contacts.