Tess Whitty
Tess Whitty
United States
Local time: 19:04
Member (2004)
English to Swedish
Feb 16, 2004

Hi!
I just did a larger project for a client. When bidding and receiving the project, they did not mention using a CAT-tool. I am new to the tools so I did not use one for this one. Now the client asks me to send the translation memory. This was also not mentioned before. What should I do? I do have Wordfast. Can I put in the texts afterwards? Greatful for a fast answer!

ncfialho (X)
ncfialho (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:04
German to Portuguese
+ ...
You could... Feb 16, 2004

Hi,
you could use the align function to create a TM....but if you are new to these things you would loose maybe quite some time learning how to do it...which is nothing bad at all, but your client should have told you beforehand...tell him you dont have a TM.

For your own interest you can (if you have the time to do so) get into using Wordfast and then if you want to try to create a TM by aligning.

Natália

Terese Whitty wrote:

Hi!
I just did a larger project for a client. When bidding and receiving the project, they did not mention using a CAT-tool. I am new to the tools so I did not use one for this one. Now the client asks me to send the translation memory. This was also not mentioned before. What should I do? I do have Wordfast. Can I put in the texts afterwards? Greatful for a fast answer!

Ulrike Lieder (X)
Ulrike Lieder (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:04
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam
Why would you/should you? Feb 16, 2004

If the job specs did not call for the use of a CAT tool, and if you did not use one, I would simply tell the client and leave it at that.