W-8BEN Form -- IRS
Thread poster: Caroline Grenache

Caroline Grenache  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:09
English to French
+ ...
Apr 7, 2011

Has anyone ever had to fill out a W-8BEN Form for IRS (USA)? I am based out of Canada and this is my first time dealing with a U.S.-based company; I am not sure I completely understand what the form says. Am I correct in understanding that a 30% tax rate will be deducted from my payments by the IRS?

If anyone has experience with this type of procedure, I'd be happy to hear about it.

Thank you!

[Edited at 2011-04-07 21:20 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
English to French
+ ...
Surprised Apr 7, 2011

Why would a tax be retained by the IRS from an invoice paid to a foreign vendor? Unless you are a US taxpayer.

Wikipedia a quelques détails (pas d'une grande clarté d'ailleurs) sur la question: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IRS_tax_forms#W_series.

Prudence, en tout cas.

Maika Vicente Navarro  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 03:09
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
W-8BEN Form IRS Apr 7, 2011

Dear Caroline,

As far as I know about form W-8BEN, is to collect your information for the US company's records.

There are two forms the W-8, for non US citizens that pay taxes somewhere else and the W-9, for US citizens that pay taxes in USA.

I am not sure whether they will reduce you payments by 30%, technically they shouldn't since you are not an US taxpayer. This form is to inform them that you are a external contractor and that you pay taxes in another country, Canada in your case.

I have filled a W-9, since I reside in US. And IRS hasn't witheld any payments in my name. I do have to pay my state taxes as Sole Propietor (as they call freelancers) and US federal tax next year.

In any case, you should ask IRS if you unsure, they are usually quite efficient in answering.

Caroline Grenache  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you! Apr 7, 2011