Stefanie Sendelbach  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 00:14
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
Apr 26, 2011

Dear colleagues,

I have been working with one of my clients for several years now. He sends me regular work that is always of a similar nature. Neither he himself nor his end-client use TM tools, but my client is aware that I use Trados for all my work. Naturally, I could accumulate a substantial TM for this client in the past few years.

In case my client now asks me to hand over my TM when I go on a holiday, say, or when I don't have time for his project and he needs to get somebody else, how would you react? Would you give the TM? For free even? If you refuse to give it (which I am inclined to do), how would you justify this without upsetting the client? Naturally, he would gain a lot of consistency and his new translator would not have to compare old files in order to copy my style and terminology.

What is your take on this? Thank you in advance for your ideas.

Stefanie

Direct link Reply with quote

Ivan Rocha, CT
Canada
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Nope Apr 26, 2011

They would have to take it from my cold, dead hands.

ISAAC PRADEL LEAL  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2011)
French to Spanish
+ ...
Your tool... belongs to you... Apr 26, 2011

I may be paranoid, but it's your work for many years, with no guarantee it will not end in Elbonia (Ref.- Scott Adams) in the hands of low-cost "service" providers ... I would never handle it, or in the first place, would have never let the client know it even existed... ONLY THE PARANOID SURVIVE...!! Schöne Grüsse...

[Edited at 2011-04-26 21:50 GMT]

Giuseppina Gatta, MA (Hons)
Member (2005)
English to Italian
+ ...
Yes, but... Apr 26, 2011

ISAAC PRADEL LEAL wrote: