Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Advice on a Dilemma Please!
Thread poster: TixhiiDon

TixhiiDon
Local time: 14:37
Japanese to English
+ ...
Jun 7, 2011

Hi Everyone. This is my first post on Proz, so I hope you don't mind me starting off by asking for some advice. I have a dilemma.

I am a freelance translator with a Client A and a Client B. Client A is my main client. They took me on as a trainee, trained me in my field, and then let me go freelance while giving me a constant stream of work for the last 10 years. They pay me a reasonable word rate, but nothing amazing.

I found Client B through a newspaper ad, and I
... See more
Hi Everyone. This is my first post on Proz, so I hope you don't mind me starting off by asking for some advice. I have a dilemma.

I am a freelance translator with a Client A and a Client B. Client A is my main client. They took me on as a trainee, trained me in my field, and then let me go freelance while giving me a constant stream of work for the last 10 years. They pay me a reasonable word rate, but nothing amazing.

I found Client B through a newspaper ad, and I get one or two jobs a month from them with blanks of a month or two sometimes. However, they pay me a good rate.

A couple of years after I started working for B, A (which is an agency) also started taking work from B. There was nothing in my contract with A regarding such a situation, so I just kept quiet about it.

Now, jump a few years, and A has discovered that I am also working for B and told me to stop accepting work from B, even after I explained that I started working for B 2 years before A did.

My loyalty basically lies with A, but I feel they are being very unfair. They are basically forcing me to reduce my income due to an unfortunate coincidence and on the small chance that the work I do for B will go to them and not some other nameless translator.