Tests for agencies/clients
Thread poster: Frances Leggett

Frances Leggett  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:54
Italian to English
+ ...
Sep 16, 2011

I received a request to apply for a new translation agency and I sent my CV. They asked me if I was willing to a translation test and I said I would do a test of no more than 200 words.
They sent me a translation test and a grammar test to do in Italian (I am an Italian to English translator). The Italian test was quite a complex piece of writing in Italian with words removed here and there. There were 60 words removed all together. My test was to read the Italian text and fill in all the missing words; they could be nouns, adjectives, prepositions etc. I found it quite difficult as I am not always able to do such an exercise in English without seriously thinking about it, let alone in my second language, despite the fact that English is my native language and I know it very well and I completed my entire undergraduate degree in Italian at an Italian university.

I asked the agency why they wanted to test my production in Italian given that as an Italian to English translator (and English native), I never translate into Italian. She replied that it was to test my comprehension. I replied that it had nothing to do with comprehension because even if I were to get some of the missing words wrong (or not be able to come up with any), it would have no reflection whatsoever on my ability to perfectly comprehend a text in Italian and competently translate it into English. To cut a long story short, I said I would do the short translation test but not the grammar test as it would take up too much of my time and had nothing to do with the purpose it was trying to achieve.

What are your opinions on this type of test for the language combination? Was it a valid test to ask of an Italian to English translator (or any other combination for that matter)?