Enlarging my activities
Thread poster: Philippe Danjoux
Philippe Danjoux  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 14:20
English to French
+ ...
Oct 6, 2011

As my partner is Graphic designer, I thought it might be a good idea to add something more to my job as a translator and to offer to potential clients services in graphic design and layout of their documents.

Do you think such an offer would be useless or there is no market at all, or maybe the market is already restricted or whatever? Would the project justify an investment in the software needed (Adobe Creative Suite CS 5.5)?

I have been working as a freelancer for ten years, starting with ProZ in 2001, and my activity is well established, but I work mainly for translation agencies whereas the graphic part of text processing is on the part of the final client, I guess, or of large agencies managing both aspects (translation and layout).

Direct link Reply with quote

David Turnbull
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:20
Italian to English
Potential for multilingual typesetting Oct 6, 2011

Hi Phillipe,

Sounds like a good idea to me. Translation agencies (in my experience) often need to typeset the translated document before returning it to their customer.

You will need to ask your agencies whether they do this and find out which programs they use. (I would guess InDesign.)

You can present this as a value-added service to your clients (and they to theirs), as you will prevent any errors being made when (non-linguist) typesetters or designers transfer the bare text to their publication.

Good luck!

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 20:20
Member (2004)
English to Thai
+ ...
Return on investment Oct 6, 2011