Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
I got ripped off!!
Thread poster: Ionela Popescu

Ionela Popescu
United States
Nov 10, 2011

This US company I completed a translation for (31 pages, over 6k words, $619) in August, has basically refused to pay for my almost 20 hours of work. Everything was fine with the translation, formatting, style, language (medical field) and I am more than qualified to translate into/from these two languages (English and French) as I have a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in them. I have also been working as a translator for almost 10 years and in all this time I have never had such an issue with any of my clients. Until now.

This lady who is unfortunately also the owner of this small company thought that my translation was so poor that it was undeliverable to the client and she all of a sudden decided not to pay which she communicated to me in the email. She has not brought any written evidence to her statements (proofreading of the translation in track changes so I can have any idea about what she was saying), the only thing she has done has been to not reply to my emails but with very great difficulty and when she does, she threatens and tries to intimidate through her attitude and remarks. She even has time to put little letters into PDF files, trying to look professional, but with all the work I did for her (this was not my first project with her) she never had time to send me a Purchase Order.