Thread poster: Oliver Lawrence

Oliver Lawrence  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 20:57
Partial member (2008)
Italian to English
+ ...
Dec 12, 2011

Here's one for colleagues working in Italy.

I am in my first year in the "regime ordinario", after 3 years in the "regime agevolato per nuove iniziative", and the due date for the advance payment of the 4th quarter IVA is approaching (Dec 27). This is generally calculated as 88% of the IVA paid in the same quarter of the previous tax year - however as you don't pay IVA quarterly under the regime agevolato, there is no last-year's figure on which to base the calculation.

Agenzia delle Entrate resolution number 157/E of 23/12/2004 says that people in my position don't therefore have to pay the acconto for the 4th quarter ("questi soggetti, in assenza dell'obbligo di effettuare le liquidazioni periodiche nell'anno precedente, non sono tenuti al versamento dell'acconto IVA per il quarto trimestre nel anno che rappresenta il primo anno in cui il regime delle nuove iniziative cessa, per mancanza della base di riferimento", paraphrasing slightly).

Is this particular resolution still applicable? The Agenzia delle Entrate website doesn't keep resolutions going back that far.

What I am driving at is that I don't think that I should have to pay the acconto for the 4th quarter, but my accountant says I do, and what's more that the 88% calculation is based on the IVA for the whole of 2010. This would result in an overpayment of several thousand euros (which I would then have to wait until summer 2012 to get back as a credit). Naturally, I would prefer to keep my money in my pocket, if legally possible.

Your views?

Thanks in advance,
Oliver.

[Edited at 2011-12-12 15:02 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Maria Rosa Fontana  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2008)
English to Italian
+ ...
I think you can keep it Dec 12, 2011

Naturally, I would prefer to keep my money in my pocket, if legally possible.

Your views?