Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
What "certificado" does my Spanish client need so I can bill them from the U.S.?
Thread poster: maryblack

maryblack  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:07
Member (2013)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 28, 2011

I have been a freelancer in Spain for around 10 years, and since I've relocated to the United States I am officially setting myself up here as a sole proprietor, although I plan to keep most of my clients in Spain and the vast majority have no issues with this set-up. However, I have one client that has told me that to operate I need a "certificado de residencia fiscal en EEUU con mencion del convenio entre EEUU y Espana para evitar doble imposicion". In other words, I need a certificate stating that my business is now in the U.S. and I'm paying taxes here so that my Spanish client won't take out IRPF/Income Tax there. Got it. The only hitch is that as a sole proprietor in the US who hasn't started operating yet, there is no "proof" that I am operating here since there is no need to even report/notify/announce that I'm operating until I file my first quarterly taxes in early April. (I have checked all this out with an American accountant who has other international clients.) So... how would the IRS even know I'm operating? Can I just ask for a letter? They don't just issue random letters, do they? I have no ID because I have no employees nor do I plan to have any. Has anyone else run up against this problem, where one country requests a document from another country that doesn't actually issue that kind of document!
Thanks in advance!!!!

Direct link Reply with quote

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 08:07
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Invoice address? Dec 28, 2011