Off topic: Do Translation Agencies treat freelancers as professionals?
Thread poster: cchaudhry
cchaudhry
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:21
German to English
+ ...
Apr 23, 2012

I am an MA student answering an essay question regarding the issues of translators and professionalism. I wondered how freelance translators feel that they are treated by agencies and whether they do feel that they are treated as professionals and if not , why not?

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxchristela
Mine - yes Apr 23, 2012

But it took me 15 years to get there. A careful selection process and survival of the fittest.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:21
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Yes! Apr 23, 2012

In over 16 years in business, only two agencies have treated me and my team unprofessionally at some stage, but all the rest of the agencies have treated me very well so far, in all respects. Needless to say, I do not work for those two agencies and dropped them as customers as soon as I noticed that they were not going to change.

I think that it is important for professional translators to steer away from agencies that mistreat them, thus making such outsourcers gradually excluded from a quality market.

[Edited at 2012-04-24 05:05 GMT]

Allison Wright  Identity Verified
Portugal
German to English
+ ...
It is a two-way street Apr 23, 2012

Sometimes the translator has a higher standard of professionalism than the agency. Sometimes, the reverse is true. I am not sure if one can generalise. I have not had any particularly negative experiences, but then I have probably steered away from agencies who would treat me in a way that offends my sense of "professionalism".

Jenny Forbes  Identity Verified
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
Impossible to generalise Apr 23, 2012

It's impossible to generalise but, yes, all the agencies I work for treat me as a professional - I wouldn't work for them otherwise.
Jenny

neilmac  Identity Verified
Spain