How to manage a client that doesn't pay?
Thread poster: Coline Roux

Coline Roux  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 02:41
Member (2012)
Italian to French
+ ...
Apr 24, 2012

Good evening everybody,

I have a (good) client that is not paying me. This client gave me big projects and the company paid me the first and second but at this time, my work for them was still minor (less than 1000 euros). They used to be late to pay.

But I worked, in January and February, on really big projects for them. One projects had really short delays so when I offered them to have a subcontractor, they were glad and accepted. But now, they owe me a lot of money and I owe my subcontractor. They still haven't paid me and they barely answer my emails, they just said they were waiting for their client to pay them. As a beginner, I don't really know how to manage this situation. I already threatened them with penalty fees.
So for me the next step is to send them a statement with all the overdue invoices and the penalty fees. And maybe a registered letter with recorded delivery.

Do you have any advice or model of letter for me?

Direct link Reply with quote

Anne Pinaglia
Netherlands
Member (2011)
Italian to English
+ ...
Registered letter Apr 24, 2012

This is your next step in order to protect yourself. If in fact this turns into a situation where the client will not pay you, you need to prove that there was due diligence in collecting the debt (proof of emails, return receipt of registered letter, etc.). Hopefully you won't need to take this to a lawyer, but you should at least take the steps that would be required of you to prove you've done all you can to recover the funds.

Also, I'm not sure where your client is, but I believe French companies have a 60-day payment period (I could be wrong here) and Italian ones are 90 days. Make sure that you are over those limits.