How do I provide a certified translation for the UK?
Thread poster: Jane Martin
Jane Martin
Jane Martin  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:31
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
May 23, 2012

How do I provide a certified translation for the UK? Is it just a question of attaching a letter stating that I am a fully qualified translator? Do I need a stamp of some sort?

Aisha Maniar
Aisha Maniar  Identity Verified
Arabic to English
+ ...
various issues May 23, 2012

The question has been asked many times, so it's definitely worth having a look through past forum postings.
It is best to ask the client what "certified" means for their purpose. It may be enough for a translator to sign a declaration that they are fully qualified (and stating said qualifications). In other cases, you may need to be a member of the Chartered Institute of Linguists or Institute of Translation and Interpreting; qualified membership of the latter organisation grants use of y
... See more
The question has been asked many times, so it's definitely worth having a look through past forum postings.
It is best to ask the client what "certified" means for their purpose. It may be enough for a translator to sign a declaration that they are fully qualified (and stating said qualifications). In other cases, you may need to be a member of the Chartered Institute of Linguists or Institute of Translation and Interpreting; qualified membership of the latter organisation grants use of your own name stamp for this purpose. In other cases, you may need to have it certified by swearing an oath before a solicitor that the translation is accurate (the solicitor only witnesses your oath and has nothing to do with the accuracy of the translation itself). These are just a few options. No doubt there are more.
I hope this is of some help but there is definitely a lot more information in the forums.
Collapse

Jane Martin
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks May 23, 2012