Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Should I sign a Confidentiality Agreement ?
Thread poster: Paula Oriani

Paula Oriani  Identity Verified

English to French
+ ...
Aug 29, 2012

Hi,
I would appreciate having your advice about a Confidentiality Agreement . Although I am an experienced translator, I do not have much experience working with agencies. I have received an email form a european agency : “Are you a freelance translator... ?” and saying they have a very large project to translate (thousand words) and they are looking for the very best translators to join them etc. I replied and sent some information. Now they sent me some forms to fill and a Confidentiality Agreement with them.
The agreement says that as a freelancer to - agency name- I undertake to treat the business of - agency name- customers in the strictest confidence. It is followed by several clauses which are about protecting their customer’s information. What makes me uncomfortable is :

1) I am asked to sign this agreement which bounds me with the agency, in case that I receive an assignment for them. What I mean is that they say they have a project coming (actually 1000 words is not large for my standards) but there is nothing in concrete.

2) I do not know who their customers are. What if some of their customers are already my customers?

3) A clause says that the obligation to maintain secrecy shall continue in full after my employment or working relationship has ended.

4) This confidentiality agreement shall be valid from the date of signature.
I understand the importance for agencies to make sure that their customer’s information is protected, and I do not wish to lose the opportunity with this agency (if there is one …). However, I feel that this agreement goes too far.

Plus, they do not mention payment method and terms. I was thinking on sending them my own general terms… What is your advice? How do you deal with this type of agencies ?

Thanks in advance!

Direct link Reply with quote