https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/23482-market_of_translation_and_interpreting.html

Market of translation and interpreting
Thread poster: Denis Kazakov
Denis Kazakov
Denis Kazakov
Russian Federation
Local time: 00:20
English to Russian
+ ...
Aug 1, 2004

I have been working as a freelancer since 1997 (English-Russian). In my experience, the demand for translating is much higher than for interpreting, i.e. most of orders I get are for translation and it is very seldom that I am asked to interpred. I wonder if this is the general state of affair or it is just my fate?
And are simultaneous interpreters in demand? Is it worthwhile to spend money and time to become one?

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Factors Aug 2, 2004

Some of the factors might include where you are located and what kind of contacts you have. Organizers of meetings, conferences, seminars, etc. at which simultaneous interpreting is required nearly always prefer local people so they can avoid extra costs for travel, lodging, meals and travel time, etc. So if you are at or near a location where such events are frequent then it would be a good business to get into.

It might be a good idea to find out exactly what sort of events of tha
... See more
Some of the factors might include where you are located and what kind of contacts you have. Organizers of meetings, conferences, seminars, etc. at which simultaneous interpreting is required nearly always prefer local people so they can avoid extra costs for travel, lodging, meals and travel time, etc. So if you are at or near a location where such events are frequent then it would be a good business to get into.