Thread poster: Alina Matei

Alina Matei  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 08:05
English to Romanian
+ ...
Aug 17, 2004

Dear all,

I have been asked on a number of occasions if I am ceritified for interpreting or translating for various trades (driving school, graduation papers, etc). I have a degree in languages in my home country (English and French), but I now live and work in the UK. I know what 'certified' means in Romania, but I am very unsure of what thet means in the UK.

Please help with information.

Thanks.

Stefania

Direct link Reply with quote

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 23:35
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moving the topic Aug 17, 2004

to the Business Issues forum.

Wenke Geddert  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:35
Member (2004)
English to German
+ ...
See also ITI Aug 17, 2004

Stafania

The following might help as a starting point:

http://www.iti.org.uk/indexMain.html

"FAQ"

4. I need an "official" or "certified" translation, can ITI help me?

For most purposes, this usually requires either using the services of a sworn translator (this would be a translator sworn before a court in a non-UK jurisdiction), or a Fellow (FITI) or Member (MITI) of ITI who may self-certify the translation. You can also have the translation notarised before a Notary Public or Notary Scrivener (usually listed in Yellow Pages). ITI publishes a set of guidelines and seals for self-certification by its members.

Sonja Tomaskovic  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:35
English to German
+ ...
Accredited? Aug 17, 2004

I think that what actually is meant by certified in this case is accredited.