International Translation Day 2017

Join ProZ.com/TV for a FREE event on September 26-27th celebrating International Translation Day! 50+ hours of content, Chat, Live Q&A & more. Join 1,000's of linguists from around the globe as ProZ.com/TV celebrates International Translation Day.

Click for Full Participation

Invoicing a VAT exempted client
Thread poster: Claire C

Claire C
Netherlands
Local time: 12:08
English to French
+ ...
Jan 21, 2013

Dear colleagues,
I have a question concerning the VAT.
I work as an independent translator in the Netherlands. A month ago, I have done a translation work for an international agency based in France.
This organisation is exempt from VAT.
What does this mean for me? Should I invoice 0% VAT? But then, is there a special reference that I should quote on the invoice (number, …)?
My accountant tells me that I should quote their VAT number in France and charge 0%, and that if I do not quote any VAT number, I should charge 21%.
But my client tells me that they do not have a VAT number and that I should not charge them any VAT… :s
Does someone know about this? Thank you!!!

Direct link Reply with quote

Hazel Underwood  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:08
Member (2005)
German to English
+ ...
0% VAT Jan 21, 2013

Hi Claire,
As far as I am aware you have to charge VAT if your client is unable to provide a VAT number (in which case you can zero rate the VAT).
That's the situation in the UK anyway.
I would probably contact your local tax office to be sure.
Kind regards,
Hazel

David Wright  Identity Verified
Austria
German to English
+ ...
why should an international agency be VAT exempt? Jan 21, 2013