Can I work as a freelancer from the US as a resident of Italy?
Thread poster: RPLanguageServ.

RPLanguageServ.  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:42
English to Italian
+ ...
Jan 25, 2013

Hello everyone

my name is Rossana and I am an Italian woman who has just decided to become a free lance translator, after some years of experience translating corporate documents for different PR agencies.

I am currently living in Italy, but in a few months I will probably move to the USA, to reunite with my husband (Italian) who was relocated there because of his job. If I decide to join him, I will enter the country under a non- immigrant status as wife of a non-immigrant worker and, unlike his status, I will not be allowed to find a job in the country.

My question is: may I eventually keep on working from there, paying my taxes to the Italian government as if I were in Italy? Otherwise, I need to consider not to go until or quit the business, which I have actually just started.

I know it's a quite delicate situation and hardly anyone would reply saying "I am doing the exact thing", but, if you don't want to refer to your personal story, can you at least give an opinion on this matter?

Thank you so much for helping.

Best
Rossana

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2013-01-25 15:51 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 18:42
Chinese to English
All a bit complicated Jan 25, 2013

There are two issues:
1) Can you work while you're in the USA?
2) Can you remain an Italian resident?