Inappropriate test translation - advice needed
Thread poster: Faustine.Rou (X)
Faustine.Rou (X)
Faustine.Rou (X)
Local time: 10:10
English to French
Apr 14, 2013

Hi,

I need some advice regarding a test translation.

A potential client asked me to choose among a few subjects for a test translation. I chose Arts and Literature, as it is what I studied at university. Unfortunately, the client sent me a literary text, but I really don’t feel qualified for that and I am afraid I’ll fail it. I was expected something about arts or about literature, but not literature per se !

Now, I don’t know whether I should tell t
... See more
Hi,

I need some advice regarding a test translation.

A potential client asked me to choose among a few subjects for a test translation. I chose Arts and Literature, as it is what I studied at university. Unfortunately, the client sent me a literary text, but I really don’t feel qualified for that and I am afraid I’ll fail it. I was expected something about arts or about literature, but not literature per se !

Now, I don’t know whether I should tell the client that I am not qualified for this test and ask for another one (a technical one). Would that sound as if I was asking for an easier test ?

Note that this is not a debate about the legitimacy of test translations.

Thank you in advance for your advice.

PS: Apology if this thread is in the wrong topic.
Collapse

philgoddard
philgoddard
United States
German to English
+ ...
Yes, you should tell them. Apr 14, 2013

But don't ask for a technical translation, which means things like engineering. I assume that's not what you want.

Phil Hand
Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 17:10
Chinese to English
If it's a reasonable client... Apr 15, 2013