Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Human translators = zombies ?
Thread poster: Sebastián M
Sebastián M
Local time: 18:44
English to Spanish
Apr 25, 2013

Hello. During my short career as a professional translator I've come across more than once with Agreements that contain clauses like this:

"Consultant is performing work, including the Services, for the Company hereunder at the Company's request. Consultant hereby assigns and transfers to the Company all of Consultant's right, tittle and interest in and to all work performed by Consultant for the Company, regardless of whether all work is described in an exhibit or supplement hereto, including, but not limited to Inventions created or developed by Consultant. This section shall survive any termination of this agreement."

What is this? Are they taking away the possibility that translators can create or develop something? What is worst, he/she can't be able to create nothing for LIFE.

The problem is that independent contractors sign this type of documents almost in all the projects they engage in. So, in the near future they will have almost zero possibility to create nothing in any field because it will be somewhat related to the work they have received from companies.

What are your thoughts?

[Edited at 2013-04-25 15:19 GMT]

[Edited at 2013-04-25 15:19 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxTimWindhof  Identity Verified
United States
English to German
consultant vs translator Apr 25, 2013

I have seen this clause before. From my legal background I would say that already the term "consultant" implies that this sort of contract is not aimed at and thus should not be signed by any professional translator.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 23:44
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Example please Apr 25, 2013

boro wrote:
What is this? Are they taking away the possibility that translators can create or develop something? What is worst, he/she can't be able to create nothing for LIFE.