Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Extremely low rate proposed
Thread poster: parolagiusta

parolagiusta
Local time: 15:34
Italian to English
May 6, 2013

I am new to Proz, though not to translating. I just replied to a job offer and got sent the text with a short turn around time and an incredible low offer. Are there any reviews of this kind of thing or is it "what the market will bear". Obviously I replied that I could not do it for what was proposed.
Sorry if this has been discussed already. Did look but didn't find anything.

Katalin Horváth McClure  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:34
Member (2002)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Many past discussions May 6, 2013

I am surprised you did not find anything related to this, as it is a recurring topic.
Have you tried the "Advanced Search" option for the Forums (upper right corner)?
As per ProZ rules, specific outsourcers cannot be discussed here, but there are other venues where you can do that.
For example, on LinkedIn, there is the "Unacceptable Translation Rates Naming & Shaming Group".
Katalin

Edward Potter  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Previous discussion on the topic May 6, 2013

I vaguely remember rates being discussed once a long time ago here on Proz.

Woodstock  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2005)
German to English
+ ...
Ah, Mr. Potter May 6, 2013

I assume that your statement is an expression of a very dry wit. icon_wink.gif Unless you live under a rock or on a desert island without internet, you probably are well aware that there are 3 threads weekly at the minimum and two on Sundays complaining about low rates, also known as dumping prices or slave wages.

Parolagiusta, welcome to ProZ. Just enter "rates", "translation rates" or "low rates", or some variation thereof into the key word search box. You should come up with enough discussion on the topic to keep you busy for weeks...

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish