Karen Rossi
Karen Rossi  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:46
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 14, 2013

Hi everyone!!
I am pretty new in the field of British translation agencies. It's my very first time!!
I was hired by a British translation agency but I haven't a vat registration number, since my incomes per year aren't more than € 5000 and therefore I use the "ritenuta d'acconto" for clients' payments. Well I tried to explain it to them and this is what I got as a reply from them:

Most of our translators are not VAT registered. As for withholding tax document,
... See more
Hi everyone!!
I am pretty new in the field of British translation agencies. It's my very first time!!
I was hired by a British translation agency but I haven't a vat registration number, since my incomes per year aren't more than € 5000 and therefore I use the "ritenuta d'acconto" for clients' payments. Well I tried to explain it to them and this is what I got as a reply from them:

Most of our translators are not VAT registered. As for withholding tax document, we have never worked with this before. What exactly do you mean – as far as I know, this applies for employees, which is not this case. I will ask our accountant as well, but I would appreciate it if you could give me more details. All our suppliers are freelancers and responsible to pay their own taxes.

What do you think about this? How does it work in Uk when it comes to this kind of situations??
How should I behave in this case??

Thank you in advance for your help!!
Collapse

Charlotte Farrell
Charlotte Farrell  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2013)
German to English
+ ...
Freelancers Pay Their Own Taxes in the UK Jun 14, 2013