Questions about copyrights
Thread poster: cendrine marrouat (X)
cendrine marrouat (X)
cendrine marrouat (X)
English to French
+ ...
Sep 28, 2004

Hello all!
I have a question concerning copyrights. I don't really know how it works, and I don't know if, as a translator, I'm entitled to them.
I live in Canada, and I was wondering if copyrights changed depending on the country.
If I am entitled to coyprights, what's the percentage? How can I ask that to a client?*

Thanks a lot.

sarahl (X)
sarahl (X)
Local time: 06:46
English to French
+ ...
You surrender your copyrights Sep 28, 2004

Hi Cendrine,
When your client pays for your translation, you surrender your copyrights. They are free to publish your translation as they please.

Claudio Chagas (X)
Claudio Chagas (X)
Brazil
Local time: 10:46
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Copyright Info Sep 28, 2004

Hi Cendrine,

I think URL below is a good place to start your search. It's nore focused toward copyright on the Web, but if you click on the Info tab you will find some useful information to get you started.

http://www.copyrightwebsite.com/

Hope this helps,

Claudio

Steven Sidore
Steven Sidore  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:46
German to English
This is not a given Sep 28, 2004

sarahl wrote:

Hi Cendrine,
When your client pays for your translation, you surrender your copyrights. They are free to publish your translation as they please.

This is a negotiable matter, however. It depends on the contract or agreement established between client and translator.

Mauro Baglieri
Mauro Baglieri  Identity Verified
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
Your rights are protected Sep 28, 2004