Thread poster: Kévin Bernier
Kévin Bernier
Kévin Bernier  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 02:23
English to French
Sep 3, 2013

Hello,

I am still new to this business, since as I started about a year ago, and I was just asked to provide my ID/passport number for a translating contract.

I already asked the client why such information was needed (they have not answered yet, I only answered about an hour ago) but I wanted to gather some opinion.

Is that standard procedure? I have to admit, I am not too comfortable about giving such information. I did a quick search on the forums and it
... See more
Hello,

I am still new to this business, since as I started about a year ago, and I was just asked to provide my ID/passport number for a translating contract.

I already asked the client why such information was needed (they have not answered yet, I only answered about an hour ago) but I wanted to gather some opinion.

Is that standard procedure? I have to admit, I am not too comfortable about giving such information. I did a quick search on the forums and it seems Spanish agencies do require you to give such kind of information, but I don't believe they are from Spain (it seems they are based in Malta).

In either case, opinions are welcome.
Collapse

Marie-Helene Dubois
Marie-Helene Dubois  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Uncomfortable Sep 3, 2013

Hi Kévin,

I would feel uncomfortable about giving this information out too. There are lots of fraudsters out there who target translators and there's plenty of identity theft about.
I think the answer lies in whether you have adequately managed risk by establishing that the agency is who it says it is.
Have you checked their website? Have you spoken to them on the phone? Have you checked that their IP address location coincides with their stated location? Have you che
... See more
Hi Kévin,