Collaboration with individuals from sanctioned countries?
Thread poster: Antonio Fajardo

Antonio Fajardo  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:42
Member (2011)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 5, 2013

Can we purchase or sell services to individuals residing in sanctioned countries like Burma, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan or Syria? Can we deduct their invoices? Restrictions apply just to a limited list of individuals or corporations ?

Any help in this subject would be appreciated, thanks!

Masoud Kakoli
Iran
Local time: 00:12
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
I'm from Iran Sep 5, 2013

Hi,

I'm a translator from Iran. I'd also like to get some information on this issue. As far as I'm concerned Iranians cannot use any international debit/credit card such as MasterCard, PayPal and others. However, I think that foreigners can still send money to Iran under certain conditions. I think that one of those conditions is that the money must be under 1000 U.S dollars and I think that transactions are not processed real time, it might take up to 72 working hours.

Please bear in mind what I mentioned is what I have heard before. They are not straight from the horse's mouth.

As far as I know, United States claims that sanctions do not target ordinary people. However in practice, ordinary people are thoroughly targeted by those sanctions.

I think it is better for me to ask financial institutions this question. I can ask them that how foreigners can send money to Iranian-based individuals.

neilmac  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
You choose Sep 5, 2013

I'm not really sure I understand the question. On a personal level, I'd be quite happy to work with clients in Cuba - I think the decades-long embargo is a disgrace that should have ended long ago -, but much more reluctant to engage with people from further afield such as Burma or Iran (I tend to avoid working with non-European countries in general anyway).