Agency mark-ups
Thread poster: Gül Kaya

Gül Kaya  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:31
Turkish to English
+ ...
Sep 5, 2013

I know this will probably be like getting blood out of a stone but I'm still going to have a stab at it. I would like to know if at all possible what the average agency adds on to the average translator's rate when charging the average client. I want this information because I have been offered an insulting amount by an agency that I have never worked with before. I won't bore you with the details, I think we're all bored of that particular conversation but I would like to send a cutting and succinct reply to said agency thanking them for their interest in me while at the same time pointing out some home truths. So does anyone know what the average mark-up is? Without giving away any state secrets of course.

Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
PRetend Sep 5, 2013

Pretend you're a potential customer. Send them a document and ask for a quote.

icon_smile.gif

[Edited at 2013-09-05 12:39 GMT]

Marie-Helene Dubois  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 20:31
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
+ ...
I have seen prices from only a few agencies Sep 5, 2013

I can't speak for all language pairs or for all countries for that matter but the few agencies I've seen the prices of seem to charge the client double what they pay the translator, or pay the translator half what they charge the client more like. Of course, I'm not counting the proofreader in that equation or any other overheads the agency may have but if I wanted a really general rule of thumb, I'd use that.

If you want to know that agency's rate to customers though, it's easy enough to do as Tom says, or get a friend to do it.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Do they earn it, whatever it is? Sep 5, 2013

I really don't know any percentage figure.