Translator in Germany with one main client: social security issues?
Thread poster: mleach

mleach  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:21
French to English
Nov 17, 2013

Hi,

I've been working in Germany as a translator since Jan 2013 and in that time have worked for two clients. One of these is based in the USA and accounts for about 95% of my work.

My question is: does this mean I am liable to pay social security because the government will class me as working for one main client? I currently only pay income tax and also have a private health insurance.

If anyone has any experience of this and can help answer my query I would be most grateful! I've seen conflicting advice online about this topic and have considered paying a tax advisor to give me some advice but thought I would try here first.

Thanks in advance,

Mark

Jenn Mercer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:21
Member (2009)
French to English
U.S. Citizen? Nov 17, 2013

If you are a U.S. citizen, you will need to at least file taxes, but most likely will not need to pay - or not need to pay much, if you are paying taxes in Germany.

Germany
French to English
TOPIC STARTER
UK citizen Nov 17, 2013

Thanks Jenn for your speedy reply! I'm actually a UK citizen and am only required to pay taxes here in Germany (thank goodness). Just not sure about the social security/one main client issue.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:21
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
A freelancer with one client is hardly free Nov 17, 2013

It seems that freelancers in Germany don't have to pay S.S. if they don't want to. But it is compulsory for them to have health insurance. I imagine nobody would want to live in a country without one or the other, anyway - the personal liability of falling ill with cancer or diabetes (for example), or an accident that left you disabled, would be terrible.