Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Anyone being tracked by translation agencies?
Thread poster: Robert Schlarb

Robert Schlarb  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:19
German to English
+ ...
Nov 22, 2013

Strange thing happened today. I, as presumably one of many on a mailing list, got one of those familiar requests from India for a quote with my "best rate" on a translation project in one of my language combinations. Nothing strange about that, true. Yet, actually reading through the invitation, I discovered the job was in the area of Computational Fluid Dynamics, a field that I have no experience in really, except that yesterday evening I did a Google search for just this term while researching a current job. I have no business relationship and no further knowledge of the agency that contacted me.
Not being superstitious, I rather wonder (what with Prism and such threatening our privacy) whether translators are being spied on, either to screen them for documented skills, to sap their customer bases, or for some other reason unimaginable for a less than diabolical mind.

Anyone else have an uncanny occurrences they are willing to share?

Direct link Reply with quote

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
As far as I know Nov 22, 2013

Robert Schlarb wrote:
...except that yesterday evening I did a Google search for just this term while researching a current job. ... Not being superstitious, I rather wonder whether translators are being spied on...

Although I often see adverts about a topic that I googled for the previous day (or topics for which I visited sites that display Google adverts), I don't think that my identity is actually made known to anyone (not even to an advertiser). Google tracks me as I visit various sites, and Google then displays adverts from advertisers of similar products, but this all happens automatically and without any feedback to the advertiser about my identity.