Who do you contact at a company when soliciting direct clients?
Thread poster: Karen Tucker
Karen Tucker  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:04
French to English
Dec 6, 2013

I'm a long-time freelance translator who would like to work with more direct clients in a specific industry, but I'm not sure which function to contact in the company. Since I specialize in marketing and communications, my first thought was marketing director or someone in that department. I'm not too hopeful about contacting human resources since that department tends to receive so many unsolicited applications and will probably just toss my letter. As a former career counselor, I used to encourage my clients to try to contact the decision-maker in the relevant department rather than HR.

But basically I don't know who handles translation outsourcing for companies since I mainly work with agencies. My direct clients have mostly been humanitarian organizations that have translation departments.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Karen

Direct link Reply with quote

Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 14:04
English to Polish
+ ...
... Dec 6, 2013

You can put a modicum of business information in your e-mail footer and just ask for directions and/or whether they actually want to receive your offer, which is a must in some EU jurisdictions (and it's possible that in some EU jurisdictions you can't do even that).

But I'd rather be handing out business cards at a physical meeting than soliciting through e-mail, especially considering how you can actually bump into someone who really hates receiving offers. The Internet is full of people who are OCD about their privacy or in any case make too big a deal of it (including agencies who don't want to receive CVs from translators... yeah...).

[Edited at 2013-12-06 14:32 GMT]

John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2008)
French to English
Upper management Dec 6, 2013