Thread poster: saranardo

saranardo
Italy
Local time: 19:00
English to Italian
Dec 17, 2013

Hello,

I'm relatively new to freelancing.

I have been asked by an online provider to sign a NDA agreement which basically FORBIDS the translator to write on a paper CV, Linkedin etc the fact that they collaborate for that company.

In this way by paying you they get all the rights on the translation, that's what they say.

Not having the possibility to indicate you worked for a certain company is a HUGE disadvantage for the translator, as it doesn't appear in the translator's history. Having references; as a matter of fact, a name in your CV etc helps to get other customers.

Is this common practice in the US? I've NEVER come accross such thing in Europe...

Thanks

Sincerely

Sara

Direct link Reply with quote

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Member (2003)
German to Dutch
+ ...
Normal? I don't know Dec 17, 2013

I've signed at least three NDAs like that with UK agencies. After signing the first one I decided not to give references any longer. Clearly top translators can never give references

Cheers,
Gerard

saranardo
Italy
English to Italian
TOPIC STARTER
NDA Agreement Dec 17, 2013

The fact of the matter is that a lot oF translators indicate the name of this provider in their CV.

As a matter of fact translating shouldn't be only a way to make a living, but also to market yourself. This is why I find this particular NDA very odd.

Lennart Luhtaru  Identity Verified
United States
English to Estonian
+ ...
I have some clients like that Dec 17, 2013

And I can understand them as the ones I have do it to protect the identity of their translators from their competition. To make sure that if they offer price X for a very specific job to an end client, there won't be a direct competitor that can offer X-15% and say that we use the same translators and proofreaders, but charge you much less.