Can non-disclosure agreements be retroactive?
Thread poster: Sarah McDowell

Sarah McDowell  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 12:15
Russian to English
+ ...
Feb 18, 2014

I have been working with a translation agency for about 6 months now. We never signed any formal agreements of any kind or had purchase orders. Everything was quite simple and straightforward. They sent me projects, we agreed on a price and then they paid me after the translations were finished.

Now, this agency has sent me a non-disclosure agreement, which is fine but it states that this agreement also governs our previous working relationship. Is this legitimate? I thought that these kinds of agreements would take effect only from the moment of signing by both parties.

Has anyone heard of such an agreement?

Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 19:15
English to Polish
+ ...
... Feb 18, 2014

You can accept some obligations with regard to information you learnt before signing the agreement. You can also confirm/narrow down in writing some previous understanding you may have had with the agency regarding confidential stuff. Nothing alarming here unless the NDA contains some provisions that aren't about confidentiality at all (as is rather popular these days). Just don't sign backdated agreements.icon_wink.gif

[Edited at 2014-02-18 23:22 GMT]

philgoddard
United States
Member (2009)
German to English
+ ...
It seems perfectly reasonable to me. Feb 18, 2014

I think we spend too much time agonizing about the finer points of NDAs. They're mostly common sense, and I just give them a quick once over and sign them.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 18:15
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Limit the coverage before the agreement Feb 19, 2014

It sounds fair to me to include previous work in a standard type of NDA. Our clients and their texts deserve a certain level of confidentiality with or without an NDA.