Large project for a branch of a company China - risky? haven't worked for them before
Thread poster: Pema Dechen

Pema Dechen
United States
Local time: 15:30
Tibetan to English
+ ...
Mar 25, 2014

Hi guys,

I've been offered a 140,000 word user manual project from "a certain company" in China (shenzhen). I've never worked with them before and I'm afraid of scammers or fake companies in China. But they are sending me emails from @(company).com.

The company wants me to finish the whole project before any payment is made. But that means I would lose a lot of time and money if they don't pay me. But it would be a great project if I have some way of making sure I get paid.

I tried to contact "the company" in the US to see if they are legitimate but couldn't reach anyone on the phone.

What do you suggest?

Thanks for any advice,
Pema Dechen

[Edited at 2014-03-26 00:48 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member for the following reason: Unedited since 4 days
Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member for the following reason: Unedited since 4 days

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 21:30
Member (2003)
German to Dutch
+ ...
Shenzhen Mar 25, 2014

The office is mentioned on the general website of the company.

Cheers,
Gerard

[Edited at 2014-03-26 09:20 GMT]

Pema Dechen
United States
Tibetan to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
That's the real office, but... Mar 25, 2014

Yes, that's their legitimate office but how can I be sure the people contacting me are legitimate. I will call them, but still how can I be sure they will pay...

They are insisting that NO translation companies pay advances.

James McVay  Identity Verified
United States
Russian to English
+ ...
No translation agencies pay advances? Mar 26, 2014

Definitely not true. I recently collected a 50% advance from a company not registered with ProZ. Of course it then took them 60 days to pay me the balance...